Chihuahuan Desert Conference

bolson tortoise 1

November 6-8, 2019

Registration is now open


Abstract submissions are now open for the Chihuahuan Desert Conference at the El Paso Zoo.  The deadline for abstracts is September 1, 2019. Pre-Registration will be announced in June.  The Chihuahuan Desert Conference hopes to bring together scientists, students, academics, land managers, and the general public to build relationships and protect treasured public lands for future  generations. Conference presentations will be grouped around various topics relating to ongoing research projects, conservation initiatives and educational programs.

Abstract Guidelines
The maximum word limit for the abstract is 250 words.  Your submission should be submitted in English. We encourage you to send informative abstract (complete abstract) which is a compendious summary of a paper’s substance including its background, purpose, methodology, results, and conclusion.  Please send in a brief biography together with the Abstract.  Send all of the above to the Conference Chair, Rick LoBello at

The Chihuahuan Desert Conference at the El Paso Zoo on November 6-8, 2019 will celebrate the opening of the new Chihuahuan Desert exhibit .  The goal of the conference will be to facilitate collaboration in the Chihuahuan Desert and to share what we are learning from current and recent research projects, conservation initiatives and educational programs.   We are planning two opening sessions, two luncheon speakers, one dinner speaker and 66 breakout sessions.

For any and all questions please contact Rick LoBello, Education Curator at the El Paso Zoo at 915-217-4233.   Please text first to help prevent spam calls or send an email to to set up a time to talk.

Anyone wishing to be involved in anyway as a presenter, attendee, committee member or sponsor is encouraged to fill out a conference sign up form.   Information on the program schedule, registration etc. will be emailed out to everyone during the summer of 2019.

Conference Committee

Rick LoBello, Chair, El Paso Zoo
Dr. Cathryn Hoyt
Juan Carlos, Wildlands Network
John Sproul, Rio Bosque Wetlands Park
Dr. Cesar Mendez, Texas Parks and Wildlife
Lois Balin, Texas Parks and Wildlife
Dr. Louis A. Harveson, Borderlands Institute
Laiken Jordahl, Center for Biological Diversity
Dr. Rigoberto Delgado, UTEP
Heather Rivera, El Paso Zoo
Sarah Murphy, El Paso Zoo
Ashley Gurnea, El Paso Zoo
Vanessa Soto, El Paso Zoo